Afternoon Tea @ The Georgian.


I have always wanted to try afternoon tea and finally got the chance to at The Georgian in August. I threw Molly a surprise bridal shower at the Fairmont Hotel. We had always talked about trying high tea at The Georgian together so this was our opportunity!

The Georgian's Petite Room for parties of 10 or more.

The Georgian’s Petite Room (I added the rose petals)

I reserved the private petite room and as soon as I walked in my jaws dropped (I was accompanied by the manager so my jaws were dropping in my head hehe). The space was absolutely beautiful. There was a chandelier that hung from the high ceilings, vintage mirrors & chests and mini chandeliers with candles used for lighting. Even the big french doors were impressive. The victorian style setting looked like something from the movies.

Porcelain Tea Cup

Porcelain Tea Cup

Fresh Fruit Cup

Fresh Fruit Cup

I opted for the classic Georgian Afternoon Tea menu which included your choice of loose leaf tea, tea sandwiches & sweets. We were given our own personal pots, an empress tea strainer, mini milk jugs and individual jars of honey. As soon as our tea arrived we were served the mixed berries starter which was presented in a martini glass. The fruit was sweet & refreshing!

3 Tiers of Sandwiches, Sweets & Savories

3 Tiers of Sandwiches, Sweets & Savories

The tier of delectables was the last to arrive and the colorful assortment all looked tasty. The top tier had house-made scones to be accompanied with jam or honey, the middle tier had savory tea sandwiches and the bottom tier had an assortment of sweets like macarons, mocha cake, meringue and a mixed berry cup with champagne. It was all so yummy.

I had never been a fan of early grey before but after trying the loose leaf earl grey at The Georgian I fell in love. I think I’ve had a cup of earl grey everyday at Artisan Cafe since the bridal shower.

I can’t stop thinking about afternoon tea! I even ordered a new tea set, an empress tea strainer and bought a few different kinds of loose leaf teas for home. I was a fan of tea before but I have a newfound love for tea all thanks to my afternoon tea experience.

Afternoon Tea in Brumus at the Haymarket Hotel

Afternoon Tea at the Haymarket Hotel

I’ll be going to London aka the land of tea & biscuits in about a month and you bet afternoon tea is #1 on my to do list. Anthony isn’t crazy about sweets or tea so I chose a place where he can have an afternoon snack while I experience British high tea :).

Leave a Reply

