Less Than 1 Month Until Euro 2013.


Grand Place, Brussels

Grand Place, Brussels

I can’t believe our trip is less than a month away! I know I’ve been obsessed with trip planning ever since we made our trip official by purchasing our plane tickets 6 months ago. Anthony & I pretty much work 7 days a week throughout the year minus a few random days off and some holidays. When we get time off we truly value our free time. With that said, we take our annual vacation very seriously! 🙂 I am completely 100% type A when it comes to all things trip planning if you haven’t already noticed…. I try not to miss any details.

A few days before our December 2012 Italy trip I got the chills, next came a cough and finally the worst of the worst – a 102 degree fever. I was so stressed out about last minute trip preparations, putting together / writing the employee manual and making sure everything at the cafe was A-OK before we left that I came down with a cold. The night before our 6:00am flight (we left the house at 3:30am for the airport), I was up until 1:00am sending out last minute emails, printing our itineraries/tickets, packing my leftover items, packing for Anthony and printing & laminating signs for the cafe I didn’t get into bed until 1:00am which meant I got 1.5 hours of sleep. I. Was. So. Tired.

This time around, I am doing everything early so I can assure a stress-free time a few days before AND the night before our flight. You live & learn right?

With less than a month out, I feel pretty prepared. In the last couple of months we have purchased all of our train tickets, our eiffel tower tickets and reserved our seats in a baking class. The rough itinerary with backup sites for all cities & a list of good restaurants is done. Anthony finally renewed his passport and we received it so that’s a double check. I figured out how to get from Paris CDG to our hotel, from St. Pancras Station to Big Ben & from Brussels-Midi to the city center. As I’m writing this post, I am downloading all of my Rick Steves’ Audio files for the trip :). I was planning on learning some basic French but I haven’t had too much time (and I’ve been lazy….) to sit down and do it so I downloaded a French Language app. Phew!

Hats, Scarves & Gloves are on my Packing List!

Hats, Scarves & Gloves are on my TO PACK List!

All I have left is a few small necessity items to buy like winter accessories(I’m trying to refrain from buying clothes!), order bread & coffee for the cafe, figure out what outfits to wear & bring and I’m good to go! As for Anthony, he will be packing his own stuff this year. At this rate, I should be ready to roll out by next week :P.

I’d also like to add – the employee manual from last year is up-to-date so I won’t have to spend long hours adding anything to it. It feels so nice to have everything done and off my checklist. I definitely learned a lot of to do’s & don’t do’s from last year. One more month of work and we’re off! We both can’t wait! ❤

Leave a Reply

