Paris, France | Day 4 Part 1


November 5, 2014

My dates and times are a little off because of the 9-hour difference between Seattle and Paris so please bear with me!

We woke up early around 8:00am to get ready to head over to our 10:00am pastry baking class at La Cuisine Paris. Not entirely sure where it was located (we only knew it was at Hotel De Ville), we wanted to leave extra early just in case. We headed out and got a little lost so we asked a server at a cafe for directions. No luck. We just kept walking and luckily my tripadvisor app was working after asking the server that day because it led us into the right direction! With an extra 15 minutes to kill, we took some pictures outside & inside before meeting our instructor and the rest of the students in the baking class.

In Front of La Cuisine Paris

In Front of La Cuisine Paris

Ant in front of La Cuisine Paris

Ant in front of La Cuisine Paris

Inside La Cuisine Paris

Inside La Cuisine Paris

Our instructor was named Diana and she was a doll! She was funny, told stories, made fun of all of us and an incredible teacher. We had fun in our hands-on class and met some cool people from all over the world. During our session, we learned to make plain croissants, almond croissants (croissant aux amands), chocolate croissants (pain au chocolat), raspberry danish (framboise danois) and cinnamon wheels. In the first part of the class we learned to make the dough and the fillings. In the second part of the class we learned to roll, need, fold and shape the pastries. The class was about 3 hours and at the end we were able to sample everything we made. They also gave us little baggies to take home whatever we wanted! This baking class was one of the best things we did the entire trip by far. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Paris.

Diana teaching us how to fold a croissant

Diana teaching us how to fold a croissant

Cutting the dough to make chocolate croissants

Cutting the dough to make chocolate croissants

Plain croissants ready to go into the oven

Plain croissants ready to go into the oven

Our Finished Product - Chocolate Croissants & Almond Croissants

Our Finished Product – Chocolate Croissants & Almond Croissants

Our finished product - Plain Croissants!

Our finished product – Plain Croissants!

After our class, we decided to walk from Hotel De Ville to the Eiffel Tower where we had 5:00pm Tickets to visit the top! It was a walk that took a long, long time (easily 1-2 hours) but we took our time to take in the views. It wasn’t the most scenic walk but the breeze was nice walking along the Seine River. It started to sprinkle just a couple of times but luckily for us after about a half hour, it stopped for the rest of the evening!

About 10 minutes into our walk we took a rest by a ledge overlooking the Louvre.

Taking a break with our Artisan Cafe cup

Taking a break with our Artisan Cafe cup

We continued to walk after our break for about 10-15 minutes when we were approached by these 2 “young gypsies” and 2 young guys holding clipboards. They asked us if we could help them support some kind of cause by signing our name on the board. We turned them down nicely. Moments later they got aggressive! One girl got into my face and started shoving me while the other one was grabbing onto Anthony’s arm & tripod. He pushed her away and came over to where I was. The girl in front of me continued to push me and I kept yelling “get away from me! get away from me!.” She put her hands in my pocket and tried to dig in there to take whatever I had. Anthony pushed the girl getting aggressive with me and my phone fell onto the ground. I picked it up, Anthony fired some words at them and we continued to walk. This my friends was my first experience with a pickpocket attempt. I wasn’t scared or upset. I don’t think I was thinking anything. All I wanted to do was to get that girl off of me. I am smarter than to put my valuables in my pocket. I had my hand in my pockets holding my phone the entire time. I’m just glad no one got hurt! People need to do better things with their time than to try and steal from tourists.

After that incident, we continued our walk. Anthony was still a little upset so I just tried to calm him down. I told him to not let something like that ruin our day. It’s not worth the time or stress! We took frequent breaks and stopped to take some pictures. About 15 minutes later he already got over it :).

Anthony & I on the way to the Eiffel

Anthony & I on the way to the Eiffel

After our 1+ hour walk we made it to the Eiffel Tower! I was wowed and remember thinking I finally made it here! After years and years of imagining what it would be like to see it in person, I was incredibly happy to be right there in that moment. We took a moment to take pictures and finally headed toward the entrance.

1st view of the Eiffel!

1st view of the Eiffel!

We still had about an hour before we were allowed to get in line to go up to the tower. We got a baguette sandwich at the stand near the Eiffel entrance. Afterward we walked along a residential street just a couple of blocks away from the Eiffel to find a cafe for some coffee. It was starting to get chilly and a little windy so we wanted something warm & delicious. We found a cute little italian cafe and ordered a cappuccino. 5 minutes later, we walked to the Eiffel entrance and we were off to the top!

Us in front of the Eiffel after going into the entrance

Us in front of the Eiffel after going into the entrance

To Be Continued….

One thought on “Paris, France | Day 4 Part 1

Leave a Reply

