Paris 2013 Recap


We spent 9 full days during our trip but I won’t be writing detailed posts about the last few days. We spent all of our time in Paris to end the trip and I can’t quite remember the order of things. This post is about my favorite foods, sights & activities. Inspired by my friend Tiffany’s recent compilation of her favorite Paris moments I am doing the same!

Food

Anthony & I are huge foodies so I don’t have one favorite item I ate. We got really lucky with the restaurants/cafes/restaurants we went to because almost everything we had was delicious. I loved the macarons from Gerard Mulot which was my favorite one we tried and we tried a ton from different patisseries.

Laduree Macarons

Laduree Macarons

I was thinking about my favorite meals/dishes and I can’t say I had a favorite but many favorites. I loved the french onion soup from Cafe Des Arts along Rue St. Andre des Arts in Saint-Michel/Odeon, the pan-seared pate from Le Reminet, the duck confit from BDJ Cafe along rue de Jarente in the Marais district, the chicken & penne from italian restaurant Sens’o in along rue Saint Louis en l’ile and the 7-diamond salad from Chez Gladines. Those are just only a few items to note because everything we ate was so delicious. Items not so memorable would be the pate from a restaurant we ate at in Brussels, Laduree macarons, moules from a restaurant in the same square at B.D.J. (this was a tourist trap!) and an almond croissant from a bakery in the Ile de Saint Louis.

French Onion Soup

Macarons from La Parisienne

Macarons from La Parisienne

Rotisserie Chicken from a street vendor in the Marais

Rotisserie Chicken from a street vendor in the Marais

Chicken & Penne from Sens'o

Chicken & Penne from Sens’o

Duck Confit w/ Potatoes

Butter Croissants

Butter Croissants

Moules

Moules

We enjoyed the free bread that came with every meal and I can’t say we had a bad baguette. Not a single one! Our favorite was from La Parisienne just a couple blocks from our hotel. We stopped by that bakery almost everyday to pick up a delicious baguette for only .90 euros. Across from the bakery was a fromagerie and charcuterie where we picked up yummy pate, jambon, prosciutto and cheese to enjoy with our bread.

Cheese!

Cheese!

Meats!

Cheese!

My favorite dessert was from Glacier Berthillon where we got raspberry & passionfruit sorbet for breakfast! The Panna Cotta with raspberry sauce from Sens’o is also high up there for best dessert.

Sorbet

Sorbet

Standing in front of Glacier Berthillon

Standing in front of Glacier Berthillon

Another breakfast favorite was picking up fresh pressed orange juice from a small shop in the Ile de Saint Louis.

Machine that pressed fresh juice and bottled it

Machine that pressed fresh juice and bottled it

Activity 

The baking class we took at La Cuisine Paris tops my list as one of my favorite activities. It was something new & unique that we haven’t done before. It was fun to bake together and learn how to make pastries for the cafe.

Anthony & I during our baking class

Anthony & I during our baking class

Shopping also tops my list of favorite activities. I love shopping for gifts to bring back for friends & family. Among fun items we picked up, we got a wooden heart shaped picture frame for us, some pate de foie gras for our parents, some wine and chocolate. Some favorite items I picked up for myself would be my small suitcase full of skincare products and makeup! Shopping at the french pharmacies was fun and there were thousands of items to choose from. I literally went to at least one a day to browse. Poor Anthony….

Shopping for skincare

Shopping for skincare

French pharmacy in the Marais district

French pharmacy in the Marais district

Shopping at E.Dehillerin (a cookware store) where Julia Child use to shop was fun too! The store was tiny but they had thousands of items. We asked at least 3 people for directions to the store with no help. We got lost and when we finally got there we only had about 15 minutes to browse before they closed down. It was worth the hassle.

In front of E. Dehillerin

In front of E. Dehillerin

The night cruise we took on the Seine of the city on our last night there was also really fun.

On the night cruise

On the night cruise

View from our cruise

View from our cruise

Although it is frowned upon, one of the things I had to do was put our name (and Ace’s!) on a padlock and lock it along Pont Des Arts. When we got there there was no room to lock our padlock on that bridge so we chose a secret spot. We bought a padlock with some Paris icons engraved into it and left our lock on the bridge (sorry city of Paris!!). We did this on our last night there :).

Our padlock in our secret spot

Our padlock in our secret spot

Souvenir padlock

Souvenir padlock

Sights

1399722_10102576465644098_138611760_o

Eiffel at night

1401389_10102564692931708_549443794_o

Looking up at Les Invalides

As cliche as it is the Eiffel when it sparkled at dusk was top on my list. The Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre pyramid, Napoleon’s Tomb were among my favorite sights. Notre dame was nice from the outside as was the Conciergie. I enjoyed walking the streets of Paris in general and thought almost everything was beautiful in its own way. The architecture is unbeatable and I haven’t seen anything like it anywhere else. I guess in this category I would have to say everything I saw!

Napoleon's Tomb

Napoleon’s Tomb

Even the outside of our boutique hotel was cute!

Even the outside of our boutique hotel was cute!

Cute cafe around the corner from Laduree in Rue Bonaparte

Cute cafe around the corner from Laduree in Rue Bonaparte

Street sign

Street sign

Metro sign in Saint-Michel

Metro sign in Saint-Michel

Cute side street near the Marais district

Cute side street near the Marais district

We had an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G time in Paris and reminisce about our trip to the city of love all the time. The city is full of life, love and lights. It’s romantic, edgy and lively in so many different ways. One just has to visit in order to understand the magic and the reason why this city is loved by so many.

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Les Invalides

Les Invalides

Padlocks on the bridge leading to Notre Dame

Padlocks on the bridge leading to Notre Dame

Picture of a bridge taken at night

Anthony’s artsy fartsy picture of this monument

 

Notre Dame

Notre Dame

Chandeliers inside Notre Dame

Chandeliers inside Notre Dame

3 thoughts on “Paris 2013 Recap

Leave a Reply

