My 10 Travel Essentials


Creating travel itineraries and packing are my specialities when it comes to vacation. Making itineraries gets me excited for an upcoming trip AND it gives me a great excuse to research where I’m going. Unlike most people who hate packing of any sort, I look forward to packing for trips and find it fun! I love organizing things and this gets me extra excited for departure. 🙂

Since I’m leaving in about a month for our Honeymoon, I’ve already started thinking about what kind of outfits and shoes I want to bring. Aside from that, I have a few travel essentials that I take with me on [almost] all trips. This list is primarily for me to reference again in a couple weeks when I actually start packing but maybe you will find it helpful for your next trip!

1. Sunglasses 

No matter where I’m going or when I’m going, a good pair of sunglasses is a must! It’s perfect for a bright day when you’re out exploring or when you can’t fall asleep on the airplane because of all the reading lights.

Sunglasses

Sunglasses

2. Wet wipes (for your bum!)

As embarrassing as it is to carry these around, butt wipes are great for traveling especially on long haul flights. No more details are necessary 😉

Wet Wipes

Wet Wipes

3. Makeup Wipes

Although these alone are not enough to take off all of your makeup, these work wonders when you need to quickly take off your makeup.

Makeup Wipes

Makeup Wipes

4. Lip Balm 

My lips are always dry no matter what I do so I have to carry some kind of lip balm with me. My all time favorites are the Nuxe Reve De Miel Lip Balm (for morning & night treatment) and the Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Petal for moisturizing lip balm with a tint of color. I will be picking up a redder/pinkish tint next once I’m out of my petal one!

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm

Sugar Fresh Lip Treatment in Petal

Sugar Fresh Lip Treatment in Petal

5. Scarf

Since my last few big international trips have been during colder seasons like Fall and Winter, I usually pack or wear a scarf on the airplane. Not only does it keep me warm, but it can also be made into a little pillow for when you fall asleep sideways OR you can lay it on the tray table (after you sanitize it of course 😉 ).

I just picked up this light pink scarf with a  feather design for my upcoming trip!

Scarf

Scarf

6. Gas-X

Another embarrassing essential for me is chewable gas-x pills in the flavor cherry. These pink babies are so effective when your stomach is, well, gassy and you’re feeling uncomfortable. I’ve used these when traveling all over and they’re awesome.

Chewable Gas-X Tablets in Cherry

Chewable Gas-X Tablets in Cherry

7. Socks 

Whether it is a 1-hour or 17-hour flight, my feet always get cold. My favorite kinds to pack are the fuzzy ones because they’re super soft, thick and warm. I received my 1st pair ever from my college roommate as an xmas gift in 2007 and have been in love since!

Fuzzy Socks

Fuzzy Socks

8. Money Belt

This is primarily for international travel but my husband and I never leave the house without a money belt. These are great for carrying around any personal identification items like your ID or passport, credit & debit cards and any extra cash. You put the items into the compartments, zip it up and then wear it around your belly (or waist) and then put your top over it. It is a great way to conceal your personal items that you don’t want to get stolen from the hotel safe or from pickpockets. It’s so comfortable, sometimes you forget you’re wearing it.

Money Belt

Money Belt

9. Change of Clothes in a Packing Cube

I just ordered a small packing cube on Amazon for Napa and loved it! I used it to keep all of my chiffon-y/silk tops for the entire trip and it saved me tons of space in my carry-on. For my upcoming honeymoon trip, I’ll be using this to put an outfit to carry-on with me since we will be checking in most of our luggage. You never know if your luggage will be lost so it’s good to have an extra outfit with you just in case. The packing cube is small, compact and though it looks tiny, it can fit a whole lot if you roll your items. Mine is the Eagle Creek packing cube in black.

Packing Cube

Packing Cube

10. Minimergency Kit 

I bought a minimergency kit for each of my bridesmaids as part of my wedding gift to them. On the day of the wedding, I saw a few of them pull out the kits and used the items in them! It was so useful that I just ordered a kit for myself today to pack into my carry-on. Depending on what kit you get, most come with 17-21 emergency items like: lip balm, hair bands, mending kit, safety pin, pain reliever, stain remover, etc.

Minimergency Kit

Minimergency Kit

 

 

One thought on “My 10 Travel Essentials

Leave a Reply

